18 book covers in the long list of the Oxford Bookstore: The Tribune India Book Cover Award


New Delhi, January 24

The Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize has announced its list for the sixth edition of the Apeejay Kolkata Literary Festival 2021. Books nominated for the list include: Sarojini’s Mother; Magical woman; Girl in white cotton; Women of prey; the nights of Calcutta; The courtesan, the mahatma and the Italian brahmin; A hell of a lover; The CEO factory; the island of guns; Bein Gandhi; two pieces ; Villa Suralakshmi; The Philadelphia Camel Merchant; Afsaane; Dastaan-e-Mughal-e-Azam; MOM ; White as milk and rice and Les Amils du Sindh.

Established in March 2015 by Oxford Bookstore, the Long List was chosen by the distinguished jury comprising Shobhaa De, prominent Indian author, columnist and novelist, Shashi Tharoor, well-known Indian politician, writer and Member of Parliament, Kunal Basu, author in more Priti Paul Director, Apeejay Surrendra Group and the creative force behind Oxford Bookstores and Namita Gokhale author, editor and literary historian.

A list of eighteen book covers was part of the long list that was announced to the AKLF. The eighteen shortlisted titles were announced by the jurors – Priti Paul, Namita Gokhale and Kunal Basu.

The Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize is a one-of-a-kind honor for the splendor of book design, and an iconic bookstore’s effort to perceive and reinforce the phenomenal work of artists, designers and distributors across the India.

The new award recognizes the importance of fine-tuning illustrations and storytelling, especially in our unmistakably visual age, and hopes that a book cover translates and interprets the resulting content in a critical way that contributes to its final achievement. .

The list of finalists for the Sixth Edition of the Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Award will be announced virtually by Oxford Bookstore, followed by announcements of the winners at the JaipurBookMark of Jaipur Literature Festival in February.

In his first year, the award went to designer Bena Sareen for the book Talking of Justice by the late author Leila Seth, published by Aleph followed by Pinaki De, for the second year who was declared the winner for the book Kalkatta written by Kunal Basu, published by Picador India.

The third Oxford Bookstore Book Cover Prize was awarded to Maithili Doshi Aphale for the book Himalaya written by Ruskin Bond and Namita Gokhale, published by Speaking Tiger. In fourth grade, the award went to Bonita Vaz Shimray for Aanchal Malhotra’s book Remnants of a Separation published by Harper Collins.

In the fifth edition, the award was presented to Sneha Pamneja for Tiffin, published by Roli Books. IANS


Leave A Reply